Cricket network logo

How The Game Works

How The Game Works

The primary objective of the game of cricket is to score runs and take wickets, T20 matches are played by two teams of 11 players and take three hours from start to finish.
Deciding the winner is easy – whoever has the most runs on the board after both teams have batted claims the bragging rights.

Batters play in pairs with one located at each end of the pitch/wicket, standing behind a white painted line (the crease) that essentially marks out their safety zone.

The aim of the bowler (and the fielding team in general) is to take wickets. This means ending the innings of one of the batters.

The team’s captain distributes the players around the field. Two positions are set – the bowler and the wicketkeeper. The other nine fielders can be placed wherever the captain determines. During the first six overs only two fielders are allowed in the outfield with the rest remaining in the infield. At the end of the first six overs another three players can head out into the outfield if the captain wishes. After the batter hits the ball, the fielders will run, dive, catch and block the ball to stop it from hitting the boundary; they’ll also try to catch the ball if the batter hits it into the air.

BBL Match Experience

learn more