Cricket network logo

Semi Final Spot Up for Grabs

11 January 2013

It's all or nothing tomorrow night as the Hurricanes take on the Brisbane Heat with the winner getting the final spot in the BBL|02 semi finals.

The Hobart Hurricanes will clash with Brisbane Heat tomorrow night at Blundstone Arena, Bellerive in a must-win clash for both teams with both teams fighting for a BBL|02 semi-final spot.

In what has been a sad week for the Tasmanian community with the recent bushfire destruction the Hurricanes will launch a live online auction this morning that will include a variety signed memorabilia for people to bid on, with all proceeds going to the Red Cross Tasmanian Bushfires Appeal.

Hobart Hurricanes’ Captain Tim Paine said it’s been great to see the Tasmanian community come together to help and support each other in what would be such a difficult time for many Tasmanians.

“We urge people to check out our online site and bid on some of the items we have, many of them featuring Ricky Ponting’s signature.

“It would also be fantastic to see a packed Blundstone Arena on Saturday night and patrons digging deep and donating when the tins come around,” Paine said.

With regular Captain George Bailey captaining the Australian ODI team today and Vice-Captain Xavier Doherty also unavailable due to Australian duties there have been some changes to the Hurricanes line-up.

New face Mark Higgs has been named in the 13, along with Test batsman Ed Cowan and Michael Hogan who has yet to play a match at Blundstone Arena for BBL|02.

International recruit Scott Styris has travelled back to New Zealand after suffering a hamstring injury during the last match a Blundstone Arena.  Styris has been ruled out of the clash tomorrow night and the semi-final if the Hurricanes qualify.

Gates will open at 5pm with the action starting at 7pm.

Hobart Hurricanes vs Brisbane Heat
Saturday 12th January 2013 Blundstone Arena, Bellerive

Tim Paine (c)
Ricky Ponting (vc)
Travis Birt
Aiden Blizzard
Doug Bollinger
Ed Cowan
Evan Gulbis
Mark Higgs
Michael Hogan
Jason Krejza
Ben Laughlin
Owais Shah
Jon Wells

In: Mark Higgs, Michael Hogan, & Ed Cowan

Out: George Bailey (ODI Duties), Xavier Doherty (ODI Duties) & Scott Styris (hamstring)