Cricket network logo


Lamichhane completes Hurricanes list for BBL|10

19 November 2020

BBL fan favourite, Sandeep Lamichhane, will have a new Big Bash home this season, with today’s announcement that the 20-year-old has signed with the Hobart Hurricanes for BBL|10.

The Nepalese leg spinner burst onto the radar of Australian cricket fans when he made his Big Bash League debut for the Melbourne Stars back in BBL|08.  In his previous two seasons of BBL cricket he taken 26 wickets at an average of 19.80 in the 20 matches he’s played.

Lamichhane – who will join up with the Hurricanes’ squad from January – said he was excited to return to the Big Bash League for another season; this time wearing purple.

"I am humbled and honoured to join the Hobart Hurricanes family for BBL|10. I have always got a lot of love and support in Australia, and the premium quality of competition in Big Bash is exciting. I can’t wait to play at the Blundstone Arena!”

Hurricanes Head Coach, Adam Griffith, added that Lamichhane had the potential to add the x-factor to his side’s bowling attack.

“We have seen how Sandeep can change a game with his mystery spin, and he can bowl at any stage of the innings.  He’s a proven wicket taker who will add yet another dimension to our bowling group.”

Hobart Hurricanes General Manager, Scott Barnes, noted that whilst the value Lamichhane would add to the side’s on-field performance was obvious, his value went beyond more than just what he could do with the ball.

“We’ve seen over the previous two seasons how Sandeep has lit up the field with both his bowling, but his infectious personality as well.

“Whilst this season is going to be one a bit out of the ordinary, we are hopeful our Tasmanian-based members and fans may have the opportunity to see him live in action later in the season.”

Lamichhane’s signing means the Hurricanes line-up for BBL|10 is now complete.  The full squad is as below:

Scott Boland, Tim David, Jake Doran, Nathan Ellis, James Faulkner, Peter Handscomb, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, David Moody, Mitchell Owen, Tim Paine, Will Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade, Nick Winter, Mac Wright

Overseas players: Dawid Malan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Keemo Paul

Overseas replacement players: Will Jacks, Colin Ingram