Cricket network logo


BBL|10 Match Preview: Thunder v Hurricanes

17 January 2021

The Hobart Hurricanes will be looking to snap out of their losing streak when they take on the Sydney Thunder at Canberra’s Manuka Oval tomorrow evening.

After ending up spending 10 days in Perth, the Hurricanes are hoping the change of scene will also result in a change of their fortunes on-field.

The Thunder have won four of their last five KFC BBL matches against the Hurricanes, including their last two on the bounce.  However – in a statistic that is considerably more enticing for the Hurricanes – the Thunder have never previously won more than two consecutive games against the Tasmanian outfit.

The two sides have only met on one previous occasion at Manuka Oval, and in that instance the Thunder came away with the points, recording a four-wicket win over the ‘Canes in Canberra in February 2019.

Despite Hurricanes Captain, Pete Handscomb, having turned his bat flip fortunes from earlier in the tournament, it seems this has not yielded the best overall luck for the Hurricanes.  The ‘Canes have now lost their last three matches on the trot despite, having won the toss on the day in each.  Only once in the last five KFC BBL seasons have the Hurricanes lost more successive matches; four in a row, in January last year.

After a much-improved outing with the bat in Perth - which saw him notch up his second half-century of the tournament - opener D’Arcy Short is now just 41 runs away from becoming the first man to record 2,000 KFC BBL runs for Hobart Hurricanes.

Will Jacks returns to the squad following the departure of fellow international recruit, Colin Ingram, following the team’s matches in Perth. The 15-player squad to face the Thunder is:

Scott Boland
Tim David
Nathan Ellis
Peter Handscomb
Will Jacks
Sandeep Lamichhane
Dawid Malan
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
David Moody
Mitchell Owen
Wil Parker
D'Arcy Short
Nick Winter
Macalister Wright

The first ball will be bowled at 7.15pm AEST, with the game to be broadcast on Channel 7, Foxtel and SEN.  It will be also be available to livestream via Kayo Sports.

Filed Under

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Sydney Thunder Men