Cricket network logo


BBL|10 Match Preview: Hurricanes v Thunder

06 January 2021

The Hobart Hurricanes will be looking to return to the winners’ list when they take on the Sydney Thunder in Perth tomorrow.

It will be a tough assignment for the ‘Canes however, who will not only be coming up against a vengeful Thunder side also coming off a loss, but with changed travel plans meaning the team will only travel to Perth later tonight.

This will be the second KFC BBL encounter between the Hurricanes and the Thunder in neutral territory, with the Thunder having won four of the last six iterations of this fixture played outside Sydney.

The Hurricanes, however, have won their last three BBL matches on the bounce in Perth, whilst the Thunder have logged just two wins from all six of their previous matches in the West Australian capital.

Ben McDermott is currently not only the leader of the Golden Bat with 277 runs to his name for the tournament thus far, but he has also registered more sixes than anybody else ahead of this round of games, and will be looking to continue that trend at Optus Stadium.

The Hurricanes have named a 16-player squad to face the Thunder tomorrow.  The only amendment to the squad is the exclusion of Charlie Wakim, who will stay in Hobart and play in the second XI match this weekend.

Scott Boland
Johan Botha
Tim David
Nathan Ellis
Peter Handscomb
Colin Ingram
Sandeep Lamichhane
Dawid Malan
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
David Moody
Mitchell Owen
Wil Parker
D'Arcy Short
Nick Winter
Macalister Wright

If selected in the final XI, Mitch Owen and Nick Winter will make their Hurricanes debuts.

The first ball of tomorrow’s match will be bowled at 3.10pm local time (6.10pm Tassie time).

The match will be broadcast on Channel 7, Foxtel and SEN, and will be also be available to livestream via Kayo Sports.

Filed Under

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Sydney Thunder Men