Cricket network logo


Match preview: Hurricanes v Thunder

09 January 2022

In a move that is fitting with a season that has been turned upside down due to COVID-19, the Hobart Hurricanes will tomorrow ‘host’ the Sydney Thunder at the MCG, in what will now be their home fixture of the League’s inaugural First Nations Round.

Despite the Hurricanes already being 10 games in to their 14-game season, tomorrow will mark the first time the two teams meet in KFC BBL|11.

The last time the two teams met, it was at Canberra’s Manuka Oval last season, and the Hurricanes smashed a convincing six-wicket win.  On that occasion, it was BBL|11’s current leading run-scorer, Ben McDermott, who was the star of the show. McDermott – who has amassed 457 runs from the eight matches he has played in KFC BBL|11 to date – notched an incredible 96 runs off just 56 balls, falling just short of what then would have been his second Big Bash ton.

The Hurricanes have named 15-player squad for tomorrow's match against the Thunder:

Gabe Bell
Harry Brook
Tim David
Peter Handscomb (c)
Caleb Jewell
Sandeep Lamichhane
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Mitch Owen
Wil Parker
Tom Rogers
Will Sanders
D'Arcy Short
Jordan Thompson
Mac Wright

Gabe Bell will make his Hurricanes debut if selected in the final XI.

International players Harry Brook and Jordan Thompson return to the squad in Melbourne,  whilst Scott Boland (international commitments), Nathan Ellis (injury), Josh Kann (COVID-19), Joel Paris (injury) and Matthew Wade (personal reasons) remain unavailable for selection.

The first rock will be sent down at 2.10pm AEDT, with the match available via broadcast on 7 Cricket, Fox Cricket and SEN 1116.

Filed Under

Hobart Hurricanes Men

Sydney Thunder Men