Cricket network logo


BBL|10 Match Preview: Heat v Hurricanes

26 December 2020

Fresh of a Christmas break, the Hurricanes will be looking to continue their good form from the start of their KFC BBL|10 campaign, when they take on the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba tomorrow evening.

The Heat will come into this meeting with confidence, having recorded back-to-back BBL victories against the Hurricanes for the first time last season.  However, in general, the Hurricanes have the upper hand between the two teams, having registered six wins of their past eight BBL outings ahead of this encounter with Heat.

D’Arcy Short will be looking to emulate the good form and he has previously displayed against the Heat in Brisbane.  In fact, the Gabba was where registered his highest BBL score when he last played, slogging an unbeaten 122 off 69 balls there back in January 2018.

On the other side of the ledger, no bowler has picked up more BBL wickets versus Hobart Hurricanes than the Heat’s Ben Laughlin, with 13.

The Hurricanes will be bolstered by the inclusion of the world’s number-one ranked T20 batsman, Dawid Malan, to the squad, who joined the team in Brisbane following the completion of his mandatory 14-day quarantine period in Perth.

The Hurricanes 18-player squad to face the Heat includes:

Scott Boland
Johan Botha
Tim David
Nathan Ellis
James Faulkner
Peter Handscomb
Colin Ingram
Dawid Malan
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
David Moody
Mitchell Owen
Wil Parker
Keemo Paul
D'Arcy Short
Charlie Wakim
Nick Winter
Macalister Wright

If selected in the final XI, Mitch Owen, Wil Parker, Dawid Malan, Charlie Wakim and Nick Winter will make their Hurricanes debuts.

The toss will be at 5.30pm local time tomorrow, followed by the first ball at 6.15pm.

Filed Under

Brisbane Heat Men

Hobart Hurricanes Men