Cricket network logo

Paine and Pyke named in ACA All-Star Teams

24 March 2016

The Australian Cricketers Association All-Star teams have been announced today with Hurricanes BBL Captain Tim Paine and WBBL bowler Veronica Pyke named in the BBL and WBBL All-Star teams respectively.

Whilst the men's team didn't make the finals of BBL05, Captain Paine had a solid tournament with a handful of good knocks including 87no vs Brisbane Heat, 57 vs Perth Scorchers and 45 against the Adelaide Strikers. He was also the standout wicket keeper of the competition and was selected as the All-Star 'keeper.

Meanwhile Veronica Pyke had a stellar season in the inaugural WBBL, topping the wicket taking tally after the round matches with 22 wickets as the WBBL Hurricanes made history to become the first Tasmanian women's cricket team to make finals in a national competition.

ACA All-Star teams as below:

ACA BBL All-Star Team of the Year

1. Usman Khawaja (Sydney Thunder)

2. Shaun Marsh (Perth Scorchers)

3. Chris Lynn (Brisbane Heat)

4. Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers)

5. Michael Hussey (Sydney Thunder)

6. Dwayne Bravo (Melbourne Renegades)

7. Tim Paine (Hobart Hurricanes) (wk)

8. Andre Russell (Sydney Thunder)

9. Adil Rashid (Adelaide Strikers)

10. Andrew Tye (Perth Scorchers)

11. Clint McKay (Sydney Thunder)

12. Aaron Finch (Melbourne Renegades)

Captain: Michael Hussey

Vice-captain: Chris Lynn

Player of the Tournament: Chris Lynn

ACA WBBL All*Star Team of the Year

1. Meg Lanning (Melbourne Stars)

2. Charlotte Edwards (Perth Scorchers)

3. Beth Mooney (Brisbane Heat) (wk)

4. Sara McGlashan (Sydney Sixers)

5. Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)

6. Alex Blackwell (Sydney Thunder)

7. Sarah Coyte (Adelaide Strikers)

8. Rene Farrell (Sydney Thunder)

9. Molly Strano (Melbourne Renegades)

10. Kristen Beams (Melbourne Stars)

11. Lauren Cheatle (Sydney Thunder)

12. Veronica Pyke (Hobart Hurricanes)

Captain: Meg Lanning

Vice-captain: Alex Blackwell

Player of the Tournament: Meg Lanning