Cricket network logo

Krishnamurthy Features In Special Women’s T20 Challenge

21 May 2018

A special Women’s T20 Challenge Match will be played at India's Wankhede Stadium THIS Tuesday 22 May 2018 ahead of the VIVO IPL 2018 First Final Qualifier.

India internationals Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur will lead the two teams in a match that will showcase some of the most talented women cricketers.

Leading stars from Australia, New Zealand and England will be in action as they join their Indian counterparts for this match.

The women’s game has seen a wave of popularity in India following the national team’s run to the final of the women's World Cup last year.

With an eye on growing this wave, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is hosting this T20 Challenge to provide the women’s game with a platform alongside its most popular tournament.

Speaking about this T20 Challenge game, IPL Chairman Mr Rajeev Shukla said: “Even as the IPL continues to roll like a well-oiled machine, over the last couple of weeks, efforts were made to put in place a similar structure for women cricketers."

"We were in talks with several Boards and I am pleased with the outcome.

"White Ferns captain Suzie Bates and attacking batter Sophie Devine - who holds the record for the fastest half-century in women’s T20Is, plus Australia’s fine all-rounder Ellyse Perry, wicket-keeper batter Alyssa Healy, Megan Schutt and Beth Mooney have all confirmed their participation.

"Danni Wyatt and Daniel Hazell will add the English flavour and this special game will be played at Mumbai’s iconic Wankhede Stadium and will be telecast live in India and across the world - including Australia”.

Diana Edulji, a member of the Committee of Administrators (CoA) and former India captain said: “We are excited to announce the first-of-its-kind exhibition match involving our women cricketers."

"The BCCI has been pulling out all stops to promote and nurture women’s cricket and this is a small yet significant step towards a prospective league involving women’s stars in the future.

"The IPL is the biggest and most popular league in the world and it has been a long-time endeavour to have a women’s league that can match the exuberance of IPL.

"Mithali Raj, Jhulan Goswami, Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana and Veda Krishnamurthy (from the WBBL Hobart Hurricanes) among others, rubbing shoulders with foreign stars will be a unique experience and something that we have not witnessed here in India.”

This match will begin at 14:00 (IST) and will be followed by the VIVO IPL 2018 First Final Qualifier at 19:00 (IST).

FOX SPORTS LIVE BROADCAST - Women’s T20 Exhibition Match THIS Tuesday 22 May 2018.

Fox Sports More Channel - 18:20-22:00 (EST)