Cricket network logo


BBL|10 Match Preview: Hurricanes v Heat

29 December 2020

The Hobart Hurricanes will be looking to reverse their fortunes of just a couple of days ago when they face the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba – for the second time in three days – tomorrow night.

It was a disappointing loss to the Heat on Sunday night, who up until then had not recorded a win thus far in KFC BBL|10.  However, despite none of the ‘Canes top six batters firing – D’Arcy Short top-scored for the tourists with 27 – the bowling attack rallied, with excellent spells from Short (3-18 off four overs) and Riley Meredith (2-24 off four) giving them a genuine shot at defending their modest total of 7-148.

English international, Dawid Malan, who made both his Hurricanes and KFC BBL debut in Sunday night’s game, reflected on the unusual circumstance the team found themselves in, backing up to face the same team at the same ground just two games later.

“To be able to play two games in a row, hopefully you get a better idea after the first game and you can put that into practice for the second game so that you don’t sort of get caught cold as such, certainly from my point of view…” Malan said.

“But I think the good thing is that we, as a team, can watch how they approached it, watch how they approached their batting, their bowling, what their plans were, and hopefully we can put that into practice tomorrow so we can be slightly ahead of the curve and not sort of reactive to what they were doing in that first game.”

The Hurricanes have named a 17-player squad to face the Heat tomorrow night.  The only change to the squad is the omission of James Faulkner, who came from the field midway through bowling his second over of Sunday night’s game after injuring his hamstring.

Scott Boland
Johan Botha
Tim David
Nathan Ellis
Peter Handscomb
Colin Ingram
Dawid Malan
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
David Moody
Mitchell Owen
Wil Parker
Keemo Paul
D'Arcy Short
Charlie Wakim
Nick Winter
Macalister Wright

If selected in the final XI, Mitch Owen, Charlie Wakim and Nick Winter will make their Hurricanes debuts.

The toss will be at 5.30pm local time tomorrow, followed by the first ball at 6.15pm.


Filed Under

Brisbane Heat Men

Hobart Hurricanes Men