Cricket network logo

Squad named for BBL|08 Opener

21 December 2018

The Hobart Hurricanes release the following squad of 13 for their KFC BBL|08 season opener vs. the Brisbane Heat at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast tomorrow night.

The entire squad of 18 featured in two practice matches vs. the Auckland Aces played this morning and yesterday afternoon at Blundstone Arena.

The Hurricanes won both matches, yesterday by four runs and today by six wickets with one ball remaining.

Left-arm quick, Tymal Mills, is out of the squad of 13 following a hamstring injury picked up in his fourth over of bowling in yesterday's match. Medical staff are assessing this injury and an update will be provided when it comes to hand.

Jake Doran, James Faulkner and Johan Botha will make their Hurricanes BBL debut if selected in the final XI.

David Moody will make his BBL debut if selected in the final XI.

The squad is as follows:

Matthew Wade (C)
Jofra Archer
George Bailey
Johan Botha
Alex Doolan
Jake Doran
James Faulkner
Ben McDermott
Riley Meredith
Simon Milenko
David Moody
Clive Rose
D'Arcy Short

Head Coach: Adam Griffith
Senior Assistant Coach: Jeff Vaughan
Assistant Coach: Ben Rohrer

The match begins at 7pm AEDT and will be broadcast LIVE on Fox Cricket.

The Hurricanes will return to Hobart on Sunday in preparation for their home opener on Christmas Eve afternoon from 3:45pm vs. the Melbourne Stars.