Cricket network logo


Hurricanes name W/BBL Players of the Tournament

20 April 2021

Scott Boland and Rachel Priest have been named as the Hobart Hurricanes’ W/BBL Players of the Tournament at the Cricket Tasmania Awards Night in Hobart this evening.

The event – which signifies the official conclusion of the 2020-21 cricket season – recognised a range of achievements across Cricket Tasmania’s high performance program – including the Hurricanes - with the Player of the Tournament awards decided by a 3-2-1 voting process, which is undertaken by both staff and players after each match.

Priest, who made her debut with the Hurricanes in WBBL|06, came out firing in her first season as a Hurricane, notching up 354 runs for the tournament – the most of any Hurricane - and taking up residence behind the stumps for all 13 games played.  Undoubtedly the highlight of Priest’s season was when she led the ‘Canes to a nine-wicket win over the Sydney Sixers, with an unbeaten knock of 92 – the highest individual score by a Hurricane since the inception of the WBBL.  Priest was also voted as the Hurricanes Members’ Player of the Tournament.

Meanwhile Boland’s Big Bash season may have seemed under-the-radar to some, but he was nothing if not dependable.  Now a fixture of the Hurricanes’ bowling attack, BBL|10 was Boland’s most consistent season in purple to date.  Taking 17 wickets at a rate of 7.95, Boland also recorded 140 dot balls for the season - the second-highest number for the league.  Boland’s standout performance was when he took 4-41 against the Sydney Thunder in Canberra, with three of these wickets – those of Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales and Oliver Davies – coming in the same over.

A full list of award recipients for season 2020-21 can be found on the Cricket Tasmania website.