Cricket network logo

Hurricanes announce Abu Dhabi T20 squad

30 September 2018

The Hobart Hurricanes release the following squad which will depart tomorrow for the UAE to compete in the 2018 Abu Dhabi T20 tournament.

The tournament comprises six of the leading T20 Clubs from around the globe - Auckland Aces (NZ), Boost Defenders (Afghanistan), Lahore Qalanders (Pakistan), Multiply Titans (South Africa) and Yorkshire Vikings (England).

Cricket Tasmania's CEO, Nick Cummins, says the Hurricanes are privileged to be invited to the tournament and will make the most of the opportunity.

"The Abu Dhabi T20 provides a fantastic opportunity for many of our emerging players to gain valuable T20 experience against quality international opposition," he said.

"It is a testament to the profile of the Hurricanes that we were invited to participate in this prestigious tournament."

The squad, made up of several local talents aiming to be the next generation stars of the Hurricanes with a handful of experienced household names from around the globe, will play two matches later this week and a Final on Saturday if they progress through the Pool Stage.

Hobart Hurricanes 2018 Abu Dhabi T20 squad

Johan Botha
Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire)
Nathan Ellis
Jordan Clark (Surrey)
Caleb Jewell
Lawrence Neil-Smith
Keegan Oates
Jerome Taylor (Former West Indies fast bowler)
Charlie Wakim
Jack White
Sean Willis
Mac Wright

Coach: Ben Rohrer
Assistant Coach: Darren McNees
Physio: Ben Hayes
Team Manager: Phil Borsboom

Hobart Hurricanes BBL Assistant Coach, Ben Rohrer, who will be the side's Head Coach in Abu Dhabi, says the week-long trip will be invaluable for the younger players.

"This tournament is a great opportunity for some of our younger players to continue to develop their short form skills and also push their case for Hurricanes selection in years to come." said Ben.

"Being able to put them under the pressure that will come with the tournament including quality opposition, crowd noise and television coverage will develop and prepare them for the Big Bash in years to come."

Hobart Hurricanes 2018 Abu Dhabi T20 Fixtures

Friday 5th October vs. Lahore Qalanders (Pakistan) at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, 3pm local (9pm AEST)
Saturday 6th October vs. Yorkshire Vikings (England) at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, 11am local (5pm AEST)
Saturday 6th October Abu Dhabi T20 Final at Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium, 8pm local (3am AEDT)

More information on the tournament is available at the tournament's website HERE.

Keep your eyes on the Hobart Hurricanes social media channels as we bring you behind the scenes content from on the ground in the UAE.