Cricket network logo


Hurricane Hayley Recognised By ICC

22 December 2017

Hayley Matthews has been named in the ICC's Twenty-20 International Team of the Year

Hurricanes allrounder Hayley Matthews has added another accolade to her already impressive cricketing resume overnight, being named as a member of the ICC’s Twenty-20 international team of the year.

A panel of selectors picked the side after taking performances from September 21 2016 onwards into account.

Matthews is currently ranked as the world’s number one twenty-20 international bowler and allrounder, while is also ranked in the top 20 for batters.

Matthews joins fellow West Indians Stefanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin in the side, as well as the likes of Australian trio Beth Mooney, Megan Schutt and Amanda-Jade Wellington and fellow WBBL|03 players Harmanpreet Kaur (Thunder), Lea Tahuhu (Renegades) and Sophie Devine (Strikers).

Former Hurricanes captain Heather Knight was also named as captain of the Women’s One Day International team of the year after steering England to a stunning World Cup triumph on home soil earlier in 2017.


ICC Women’s Twenty-20 Team of the Year:

Beth Mooney (Wicketkeeper- Australia)

Danni Wyatt (England)

Harmanpreet Kaur (India)

Stefanie Taylor (Captain - West Indies)

Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

Deandra Dottin (West Indies)

Hayley Matthews (West Indies)

Megan Schutt (Australia)

Amanda-Jane Wellington (Australia)

Lea Tahuhu (New Zealand)

Ekta Bisht (India)