Cricket network logo

Fazackerley, Short take home Members' MVP Awards

05 April 2019

Explosive opener bats, Erin Fazackerley and D'Arcy Short have been named the Hobart Hurricanes Members' Most Valuable Players throughout rebel WBBL|04 and KFC BBL|08 tonight at the Cricket Tasmania Awards at Wrest Point.

Each Hobart Hurricanes Member was invited to provide their 3, 2, and 1 votes for each award online with Fazackerley and Short streaking clear of the chasing pack to take home the honour.

20-year-old Fazackerley was a surprise choice to open with the willow for the young Hurricanes side from the opening game of their season with the Perth Scorchers but she didn't take a backward step, despatching the bowlers to all parts of the Junction Oval to put the League on notice.

Short's dynamite ability with the willow was matched with greater consistency this summer as he averaged 53 each time he was at the crease to tally 637 runs at a strike rate of over 140.

There were calls for Short to be labelled an all-rounder too as his left-arm leg-spin improved out of sight to claim 10 wickets in his 37 overs across 15 matches.


Short now miraculously holds back-to-back Player of the Year honours for the Hurricanes as well as the League itself and with BBL|08 as a key indicator, he appears to be only getting better year on year.
The Hobart Hurricanes extend a big thank you to each and every Member for their support of this award, we look forward to having you in the stands across Tasmania for WBBL|05 and BBL|09 in the not too distant future.