Cricket network logo

Teams named for Blundstone Double Header

07 January 2017
The Hurricanes at Blundstone Arena

Less than 700 tickets left for Blockbuster Double Header at home.

The Hobart Hurricanes have named both their teams for a 'Super Sunday' of BBL/WBBL action at Blundstone Arena. With less than 700 tickets left (on Saturday morning), local fans are urged to get their ticket for the double header before it sells out.


The BBL Hurricanes will take on reigning champions Sydney Thunder in a must win match after being defeated by the Strikers last night in Adelaide whilst the WBBL Hurricanes will face the Brisbane Heat, fresh off a win over the Sydney Thunder in Launceston on Friday night.


With just three matches left in the regular BBL season, the Hurricanes will be hungry for a third win to keep their finals chances alive. 


Despite the loss last night there were some good signs from second gamer Beau Webster who made 67 from 43 balls and Jon Wells who also notched up a half century after the Hurricanes hit early hurdles to be 5-30 whilst Dan Christian was once again good with the ball.


Hurricanes selectors have made one change to the squad which played in Adelaide with Shaun Tait coming back into the squad for Simon Milenko as the Hurricanes search for another win at home.


The WBBL Hurricanes are also looking for a victory on Blundstone Arena to push their way up the table. Currently sitting in third position after their win on Friday, the team play five of their six remaining fixtures at Blundstone Arena. Their match on Sunday will be followed by a match under lights on Monday night against the Heat, hitting off at 6.30pm.


Sasha Moloney returns to the squad after suffering a knee injury earlier in the season and Meg Phillips has also been included in a 15-person squad for the two matches.


A ticket for the BBL match will get patrons in for the WBBL match however entry to just the WBBL match on Monday night at Blundstone Arena is FREE.


Further Match Day Information for Sunday can be found HERE



Tim Paine (c), Dan Christian (vc), Cam Boyce (dvc), George Bailey, Stuart Broad, Hamish Kingston, Ben McDermott, Clive Rose, Kumar Sangakkara, D'Arcy Short, Shaun Tait, Beau Webster, Jon Wells.



Heather Knight (c), Veronica Pyke (vc), Erin Burns, Erin Fazackerley, Corinne Hall, Brooke Hepburn, Katelyn Fryett, Julie Hunter, Hayley Matthews, Sasha Moloney, Meg Phillips, Celeste Raack, Georgia Redmayne, Amy Satterthwaite, Emma Thompson.