Cricket network logo

D'Arcy goes back-to-back again

05 April 2019

D'Arcy Short has been named as the Hobart Hurricanes' BBL Player of the Year for the second successive season tonight at the Cricket Tasmania Awards at Wrest Point.

In an incredible feat, the left-hander now miraculously holds back-to-back Player of the Year honours for the Hurricanes as well as the League itself and with BBL|08 as a key indicator, he appears to be only getting better year on year.

Short's dynamite ability with the willow was matched with greater consistency this summer as he averaged 53 each time he was at the crease to tally 637 runs at a strike rate of over 140.

There were calls for Short to be labelled an all-rounder too as his left-arm leg-spin improved out of sight to claim 10 wickets in his 37 overs across 15 matches.

Short claimed the award with 285 votes ahead of opening partner, Matthew Wade (240) in second, George Bailey (157) third and Jofra Archer (125) fourth.

The 28-year-old West Australian also claimed the Hurricanes Members' BBL MVP award with all-rounder Erin Fazackerley being voted as the WBBL MVP.

Short's stunning form during BBL|08 earned him his spot back in the Australian T20 setup for their superb series triumph in India, too.

D'Arcy will spend much of the Australian winter in the UK for their summer, having signed with Durham for their T20 Blast competition.

The Hobart Hurricanes are very much looking forward to having D'Arcy back in purple once more when BBL|09 approaches.