Cricket network logo

A History of the BBL Finals

13 February 2019



The fate of the Finals for the Hurricanes was decided three matches out from the end of the regular season, but the history of the BBL Finals does not allow room for complacency or ignorance.

Our finals hopes were set alight when we defeated the Brisbane Heat at Blundstone Arena. A home semi-final became ours after claiming a win against the Renegades by 16 runs on home soil.

The pursuit of the BBL08 title is well and truly alive for the Hurricanes squad, who are eager for Thursday’s semi-final to take place. The Hurricanes are yet to lose a match this season at Blundstone Arena and are in the hopes that this final will be no different.

We look back at the history of the Big Bash finals and hope to find a deeper understanding of just how unique the BBL finals are.




BBL08 was a typically unforgiving and competitive tournament.


Our Finals History

The Hurricanes have made the finals three times before, finishing second in BBL01 and fourth in BBL03 and BBL07 in dramatic fashion.

The Hurricanes won five matches in the seven-match inaugural BBL01 edition of the tournament, to sit equal top on points with the Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers. Net run rate saw us finish the tournament in second position, but a strong display from the Sixers ended our campaign at the semi-finals.

The Hurricanes qualified for the finals again in BBL03, finishing in fourth position after winning three games, and having one no-result.

Coming up against the previously undefeated Melbourne Stars in the semi-final, the Hurricanes stunned the cricketing public, running out seven-wicket winners to book a place in the final, before going down to the Scorchers by 39 runs.

In the BBL07 campaign our finals entrance was in dramatic style, after sitting comfortably most of the season, with a place in the finals seeming imminent. The complacency proved costly when we lost against the last placed Stars at the MCG in Kevin Pietersen’s final professional game, the last for the regular season.




As a result, we needed the Brisbane Heat to be defeated (crushed) by the Melbourne Renegades to allow us to finish in fourth place, and our wishes were granted by the BBL Gods.

The semi-final took place in Perth, with the inception of Optus Stadium. The Scorchers didn’t get the christening for the stadium that they were after when the Hurricanes claimed a tremendous victory sending them into the Grand-Final.

But the glory was short lived when the Strikers were declared BBL07 Champions after taking the win in definitive fashion.


How Many Wins to Make Finals? A Season-On-Season Review

Across the journey four wins has typically booked a finals ticket, but with BBL07 seeing every team play 10 matches, the Hurricanes needed five wins to sneak into the business end of the tournament.

BBL01: The Hobart Hurricanes got a taste for finals action in the inaugural year of the tournament, being one of three sides to finish with five wins from seven games. Net run rate saw the Hurricanes finish between the Perth Scorchers (top), who eventually finished runners-up, and the eventual champions Sydney Sixers on the final table. The Melbourne Stars rounded out the top four with four wins and three losses.

BBL02: The first season in which every side played eight games, and in an incredibly even tournament, the Hurricanes won four matches, but finished in sixth position. Brisbane Heat, the eventual tournament winners, finished on the same number of wins, but scraped into fourth position ahead of the Strikers and Hurricanes due to a superior run rate.

BBL03: The Hurricanes almost repeated the Heat’s heroics of winning from fourth the very next year, scraping into finals with three wins and one additional point for a no-result encounter with the Strikers. This additional point proved influential, with the Heat and Renegades missing out on finals action despite registering the same number of wins.

BBL04: Five wins proved to be the ticket for a finals berth in BBL04, with the Scorchers (second, and eventual champions), Stars (third) and Sixers (fourth, and eventual runners-up) all finishing with a win/loss record of 5/3.

BBL05: After only winning three matches across the previous three editions of the BBL, Sydney Thunder shot to success in BBL05, winning four and losing four to slide into fourth position on the final table. With the Renegades, Heat and Hurricanes just missing out on the finals by one win, the Thunder went on to win the title from fourth, further underlining just how even the competition can be.

BBL06: The sixth edition of the tournament was one of the tightest yet, with only two games separating the ladder-leading Perth Scorchers (five wins) and bottom placed Sydney Thunder (three wins). The Scorchers, Heat and Sixers made up the top three with five wins, while the Stars (four wins) edged out their cross-town rivals on net run rate to round out the top four.

BBL07: The most recent addition to the BBL campaign was quite well staggered in points across the ladder, with six points between first and fourth position. Only 5 wins were necessary to get the Hurricanes to the finals. Yet the Scorchers were favourites after only two losses in the regular season but proving that the finals offer no mercy when all these wins became worthless.


What happens once you make finals?

In the history of the BBL, only once has a side that topped the ladder at the end of the tournament gone on to win the title, with the Perth Scorchers doing the double in BBL06, the most even edition of the competition to date.

The most common combination for the final is second vs fourth, which has occurred on three occasions, with the ladder leader only making the final twice across the competition’s seven instalments. The Hurricanes will look to be the third.

The evenness of BBL finals is underlined by the fact that an eventual champion has emerged from every spot within the top four across the duration of the tournament.


Ladder Leader: Perth Scorchers

Final: Perth Scorchers (first) vs Sydney Sixers (third)

Champions: Sydney Sixers



Ladder Leader: Melbourne Renegades

Final: Brisbane Heat (fourth) vs Perth Scorchers (second)

Champions: Brisbane Heat



Ladder Leader: Melbourne Stars

Final: Perth Scorchers (third) vs Hobart Hurricanes (fourth)

Champions: Perth Scorchers



Ladder Leader: Adelaide Strikers

Final: Sydney Sixers (fourth) vs Perth Scorchers (second)

Champions: Perth Scorchers



Ladder Leader: Adelaide Strikers

Final: Melbourne Stars (second) vs Sydney Thunder (fourth)

Champions: Sydney Thunder



Ladder Leader: Perth Scorchers

Final: Perth Scorchers (first) vs Sydney Sixers (third)

Champions: Perth Scorchers



Ladder Leader: Perth Scorchers

Final: Adelaide Strikers (second) vs Hobart Hurricanes (fourth)

Champions: Adelaide Strikers


It may be awfully simple to note that every team is in with a chance once the finals are made, but the history of this even competition suggests that every single side is capable of emerging as BBL champions.


Our Hurricanes are currently sitting at the top of the table, but will the BBL08 finals be the ‘Canes time to shine?


The Hurricanes will take on the Melbourne Stars at Blundstone Arena this Thursday, February 14th from 7.30pm AEDST.



7:30pm THIS Thursday Night 14 February

First Semi-Final, Hobart Hurricanes vs Melbourne Stars - Blundstone Arena, Hobart.



7:30pm THIS Friday Night 15 February

Second Semi-Final, Melbourne Renegades vs Sydney Sixers - Marvel Stadium, Melbourne.

2:45pm THIS Sunday Afternoon 17 February

Grand Final, Hurricanes OR Stars vs Renegades OR Sixers - Venue TBC.