Cricket network logo

4th Rebel WBBL Season Reaches New Heights

17 July 2018


- Rebel WBBL|04 Tournament: Sat 1 Dec 2018 – Sat 26 Jan 2019.

- Rebel WBBL|04 Big Opening Weekend: Sat 1 – Sun 2 Dec 2018, CitiPower Centre at Junction Oval, Melbourne.

- WBBL to launch its Big Bash Summer with a standalone festival weekend in Melbourne with all eight clubs competing across four matches.

- 23 broadcast matches on FOX SPORTS and Seven, up from 12 matches in WBBL|03.

- to livestream all remaining games via their website and app.

- WBBL to be broadcast live via ABC Radio’s extensive coverage across the country.

- Season includes standalone finals for the first time.

- Whole standalone season on the horizon for WBBL|05 in the 2019-20 Season.

- WBBL|04 will showcase the world’s best cricketing talent following the ICC Women’s World T20 West Indies 2018 (9-24 November) and is an opportunity for players to showcase their talents ahead of the ICC Women’s World T20 Australia 2020.

- WBBL|04 Hurricanes Women’s Fixture is available HERE.

The schedule for the fourth season of the rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) has been released, with the fixture building upon the success of WBBL|03 and introducing a new look for the league that will help the competition reach new heights of popularity ahead of a standalone fixture in 2019-20.

The WBBL regular season will feature 56 matches, in addition to two Semi-Finals and the Final, boasting more weekend games and family friendly timeslots than ever before.

Once again, ALL regular season matches will be free of charge for attending fans.

Across the season, 23 WBBL matches will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS and Seven, almost double the number of televised matches from last season, meaning fans will be able to enjoy more WBBL coverage at home than ever before.

Fans will also be able to follow the WBBL action live via ABC Radio’s extensive coverage across the country.

In addition to this unprecedented coverage from broadcasters, Cricket Australia will live stream the remaining WBBL matches on and the CA Live App.

WBBL|04 will feature three festival weekends to start the season before returning to a more traditional fixture during the summer school holidays.

These festival weekends, inspired by the popularity of past WBBL opening weekends, provide existing and new fans with a fantastic introduction to the world-class on-field action and family-friendly entertainment and atmosphere on offer.

The season begins with a blockbuster opening weekend across Saturday 1 and Sunday 2 December at the newly refurbished CitiPower Centre at Melbourne’s Junction Oval, featuring four matches with all eight clubs from across the country competing.

To create the perfect start to a summer of Big Bash entertainment, all four matches across this opening weekend will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS, Seven and ABC Radio, as some of the world’s best cricketers take to the field.

From Friday 7 December to Sunday 9 December there will be a second festival weekend of WBBL entertainment, featuring eight matches across four locations.

The highlights will be the four games played at North Sydney Oval – the established home of women’s cricket in Sydney, and two matches in the new expansion market of Burnie in North West Tasmania.

The following weekend from Saturday 15 December to Sunday 16 December, there will be a third and final festival weekend, with four matches to be played at Hobart’s Blundstone Arena, two matches at Casey Fields, and a single match at a venue yet to be announced.

Once school holidays begin, fans will have plenty of WBBL action to look forward to as 40 matches will be played across 40 action-packed days.

During this period there are several blockbuster matches, including the first ever WBBL night match at Optus Stadium, a New Year’s Eve showdown at Adelaide Oval, a Christmas Eve match between the Sydney Thunder and Hobart Hurricanes at Spotless Stadium, and the first Melbourne Derby on the afternoon of Saturday 29 December at Marvel Stadium (nee Etihad Stadium).

New markets attracting WBBL matches include Burnie, Bankstown and Cairns, with additional markets for the Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Thunder fixtures this season yet to be announced.

Matches will also be returning to expansion market Alice Springs, where the Adelaide Strikers and Perth Scorchers will once again take the field in the heart of the nation.

In a League first, WBBL finals will be standalone fixtures, guaranteeing the top ranked team will win the right to host at their home stadium, in front of a home crowd.

Both Semi-Finals will take place on Saturday 19 December at the one location, with the Final to be played the following weekend on Australia Day Saturday 26 January.

With the standalone finals, fans can expect the family atmosphere, which has been at the heart of the WBBL in its first three seasons, to be taken to new heights providing an exciting, must-attend finale.