Responsive image




Last year saw the launch of the successful Women's Big Bash League competition with eight teams competing. The teams are aligned with the existing BBL teams competing in the KFC T20 Big Bash League and it replaced the previous state based WT20 competition.

The WBBL Hobart Hurricanes had a superb season in the first year of the competition, making it all the way to the semi-finals and in the process became the first Tasmanian women's cricket team to make the finals of a national competition.


With eight teams, the WBBL follows a similar format to the men's. The major differences are that, instead of only eight regular season matches, each WBBL side plays each other twice, with 14 matches to be played per side (just like the former WT20 format).

The matches are held in weekend carnival styles, with blocks of matches starting from December 5. This set up over weekend periods gives the players time for their cricketing commitments as well as full time work and/or study.


In WBBL01 Channel 10 showed 8 matches live via One HD,  the matches coincided with Men's matches as double-headers. After big numbers shown across these televised game it's anticipated Channel 10 will once again get behind the WBBL in season two.



Each WBBL squad has 14 active players and like the BBL, International players feature for each side.   Each club is allowed to sign up to five and players who are either a) Southern Stars representatives from the last three years, or b) overseas players.

The Hurricanes list boasts England Vice Captain Heather Knight, New Zealand International Amy Satterthwaite, Teen West Indies International Hayley Matthews and Southern Star Julie Hunter.



Last year the WBBL side had a superb season, becoming the first Tasmanian women's cricket team to make the finals of a national competition. The team made it to the semi-finals but were defeated by the Sixers at the MCG in a rain affected match.  Announcements around the WBBL02 squad will come in due course.

Coach: Julia Price | Assistant Coach: David Drew

Julie Hunter, Heather Knight, Hayley Matthews, Amy Sattherthwaite, Katelyn Fryett,  Veronica Pyke, Brooke Hepburn, Meg Phillips, Sasha Moloney, Emma Thompson, Erin Burns, Emily Smith, Celeste Raack, Corinne Hall.



ENTRY IS FREE! (apart from any scheduled double headers)

One of the best thing about the WBBL is that tickets are FREE, that’s right you get to watch the best female cricketers in the world go about their business for FREE!