Bailey to Captain Australian ODI Team

06 January 2013

Hurricanes Captain George Bailey & spinner Xavier Doherty have been selected in the Australian ODI squad.

The Cricket Australia (CA) National Selection Panel (NSP) has today announced a 13-player squad for the first two Commonwealth Bank Series matches against Sri Lanka on 11 January at the MCG and 13 January at the Adelaide Oval.

Hurricanes duo George Bailey and Xavier Doherty have been included in the squad with Bailey named Captain in Michael Clarke's absence.

Their selection will mean the pair will miss the Hurricanes crucial must-win match on Saturday night against the Brisbane Heat at Blundstone Arena but Bailey believes they the Hurricanes have some great replacements in the squad to cover his and Doherty’s absence due to their ODI call ups:

“We have Jon Wells who has been on the fringes the whole tournament so I think he is a ready-made replacement and it has been really hard leaving Jason Krejza out of the team too so I think he will slot in and become a real wicket-taking option aswell," Bailey said.

The Australian squad for the first two matches is:

George Bailey (captain) 
Ben Cutting 
Xavier Doherty 
Aaron Finch   
Brad Haddin  
Phillip Hughes  
David Hussey   
Mitchell Johnson  
Usman Khawaja  
Glenn Maxwell   
Clint McKay   
Steve Smith   
Mitchell Starc

Top Stories